Let the training begin

I ran the Resolution Run 5K in Nashville on New Year’s Day and had a bit of a rude awakening!  It definitely brought to my attention my need for hill work before the Country Music Half Marathon.

Image

Elevation Map for the Country Music Half Marathon

Murfreesboro is mostly flat and hills are hard to come by.  I found three hills to practice on and figured I could get the rest of my hill work done on a treadmill. Then I registered for the San Francisco 1st Half Marathon and saw this:

san Francisco elevaton cropped

YIKES!!!

Needless to say I am trembling in my Brooks!

So I have designed a plan to train for Country Music that will also begin to prepare me for San Francisco.  Since I am coming off of an injury I decided to take it slow and go with a 16 week plan so I have a little extra room to play with.  Each week I will do either speed work or hill work but probably not both and I have built in two of several long runs so I can cut back on miles if it need to.

Disclaimer!  I am NOT an expert!  This is the plan I will be using and is not intended to be advice for others.

Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday Total Miles
Week 1 X-train Rest 3mi HW Yoga 3mi SW Rest or X-train 4 miles 10
Week 2 3 miles Rest 3 mi HW Yoga 3 mi SW Rest or X-train 5 miles 14
Week 3 3 miles Rest 4 mi HW Yoga 4 mi SW Rest or X-train 6 miles 17
Week 4 3 miles Rest 4 mi HW Yoga 4 mi SW Rest or X-train 6 miles 17
Week 5 3 miles Rest 5 mi HW Yoga 5 mi SW Rest or X-train 7 miles 20
Week 6 3 miles Rest 5 mi HW Yoga 5 mi SW Rest or X-train 7 miles 20
Week 7 3 miles Rest 6 mi HW Yoga 4 mi SW Rest or X-train 8 miles 21
Week 8 3 miles Rest 6 mi HW Yoga 4 mi SW Rest or X-train 8 miles 21
Week 9 3 miles Rest 5-6 HW Yoga 4-5 SW Rest or X-train 9 miles 21-23
Week 10 3 miles Rest 5-6 HW Yoga 4-5 SW Rest or X-train 9 miles 21-23
Week 11 2 miles Rest 6 mi HW Yoga 5 mi SW Rest or X-train 10 miles 23
Week 12 2 miles Rest 6 mi HW Yoga 5 mi SW Rest or X-train 10 miles 23
Week 13 2 miles Rest 5-6 HW Yoga 4-5 SW Rest or X-train 11 miles 22-24
Week 14 2 miles Rest 5-6 HW Yoga 4-5 SW Rest or X-train 12 miles 23-25
Week 15 3 miles Rest 5-6 mi Yoga 4-5 mi Rest or X-train 6 miles 18-20
Week 16

SW – Speed Work

HW – Hill Work

3 miles Rest 4 miles Yoga 2 miles Rest Rest Race Day

13.1

Leave a Reply

