Tom KIng Half Marathon Race Recap

I was very nervous going into this race.  I only ran 4 miles  last week for a total of 8 miles in the last two weeks so I wasn’t expecting much and I was just hoping to finish. I decided I was going to take it easy and just try to have a good time.  I set my garmin for run 2/walk 1 intervals and decided I would only look at it occasionally so I would know when to fuel.  

Image

Winston is making sure no one messes with my gear

The start line was crowded even though the race was limited to 1,500 and it took a couple of minutes to get through the start line but once through I started the intervals and took off at what my body seemed to feel was a reasonable pace.  It was an out and back course and I saw the winner coming back around mile 3.5 (turns out they set a course record).  My toes started hurting around mile 5 but when I started focusing on my foot strike the pain went away.  I saw my friend and her mom around mile 6 and was surprised.  I thought they were going slower than usual but it turns out my pace was faster than I realized.  I got through the turnaround and was still feeling pretty good until mile 10.  At this point, it felt like a rock was lodged under the ball of my foot.  I knew it was just the nerve in my foot and there wasn’t actually a rock  the size of a marble in my shoe so I kept going.  I had to walk quite a bit in the last three miles but boy was a surprised when I looked at my watch just before running onto LP field and realized I was going to have a sub 3 hour finish!  

This race is really cool because the finish line is on the 50 yard line of LP Field (where the Tennessee Titans play).  I crossed the finish line at 2:57:59…My second fastest half yet!  

Image

After the race…Hot, sweaty, and happy to be done!

Image

The medal!

Did I mention they had a full breakfast buffet spread after the race with eggs, hashbrowns, coffee, pastries, muffins, croissants, and biscuits!  I will definitely do this race again!

 

Leave a Reply

