The first time

The last few days, I have had lots of first time moments.

– I had my first wheatgrass shot

– I ran a major race for the first time in the rain (wearing a shower cap) – more on that later

And

– I will be running my first relay race this weekend

This relay is no Ragnar, but is a 53 mile relay to raise money for the Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation. I was originally running on a 5 person ultra team but I found out yesterday that one of our members has to drop out for medical reasons. Hopefully our team can find a replacement but if not, 2 or 3 of us will have to divide up the 11 miles (bringing my mileage to a possible 15-16).

Needless to say, I am nervous about the whole thing but it is for a great cause and we will finish even if I have to crawl through some of the miles (we are Team Turtle Herders after all!)

Any tips for a first time relay?

Leave a Reply

