Country Music Marathon Recap

Lets face it, Rock n’ Roll puts on a huge Expo and Friday afternoon, myself and thousands of others headed down to the convention center knowing that the weather forecast was calling for temperatures in the mid 50s and 100% chance of rain.  Seriously,  I think it is the first time I have ever seen 100% chance of rain in TN! 

After we got our bibs and goodie bags, we headed into the Brooks section of the Expo for some shopping and after spending way too much money I had qualified for a “Pee like a Rockstar” VIP pass.  I’m not really sure why I let myself spend so much but when it is 50 degrees and pouring rain on race morning, suddenly $100 seems a small price to pay for heated, indoor toilets…and free travel size tubes of body glide!!!!!

Image

The expo had a few boards set up that the runners could sign to send their best wishes to Boston.

Image

Image

And of course you have to get your Elvis on at every expo!

Image

Apparently it takes a lot of stuff to get ready to run in the rain

Image

My list:

Basic running clothes (capris, wicking underwear, jog bra, wicking socks, half fanatics top of course)

Arm sleeves, throw away gloves, road ID, body glide, garmin, hat, poncho, and shower cap!

The shower cap was brilliant!  For the first time ever, I was the one who looked like an idiot but had a fabulous idea!  It kept my head dry for most of the race and trapped body heat to keep me warm!  If you ever want people to cheer for you, run a race in the rain in tie-dyed pants, a blue poncho and a hot pink shower cap!  Every one cheered and commented on my outfit!

They had a moment of silence at the beginning to remember the tragedy in Boston and asked all of the runners to hold up a peace sign with the Run Boston bracelets they gave us at the expo.  It was pretty powerful.

Image

This photo is from the Rock n’ Roll facebook page

The race itself was actually quite tough.  I set my watch for intervals but between the rain and the crazy loud spectators (Nashville rocks!) I couldn’t hear it and ended up running by feel.  I knew it was going to be mentally tough by the time we got to mile 3 so I decided to dedicate each mile to someone who has influenced my life.  The entire mile I would focus on all the reasons I was grateful for that person. Cheesy, I know, but it really helped the miles tick away.  By the last two miles I was mostly walking because 1.  I forgot to take my last gel, and 2. very wet shoes feel at least 5 pounds heavier, but all in all I had a great time with a finish of 3:11:08.

Image

Don’t worry marathonfoto, I am totally ordering this pic!

 

This weekend is the big relay and it looks like we may have repeat weather (a high of 58 with a 70% chance of rain) but at least I have already done a test run.  Have shower cap…will run!

Leave a Reply

