Half marathon training begins

Without realizing it, I decided to run The Women’s Half, The Middle Half, and Ragnar with only a week between each race…what can I say, I am an overachiever!  

I have run 14 half marathons and 2 full marathons so far and did all of the training on my own (not something I recommend) but since I have such an ambitious race calendar coming up I decided to do coached training this time around. Hopefully it will (1) help me become a stronger finisher and (2) allow me to meet people who run close to my pace since everyone I know runs much faster than me.

Today was our first day of training and our first group long run.  The plan was 5 miles and we all started as a group but soon we all split up.  I ended up running the last 3 miles by myself – without music (something else I am working on).  It was hot but I felt pretty strong throughout the entire thing.  

Like the speed work, I think the group training is going to be good for me.  Had I been by myself I probably would have taken extra walk breaks but I stuck to a 2:1 interval and still finished strong. What can I say?  I guess I need accountability.

Image

3 thoughts on “Half marathon training begins

  1. I have recently decided to do another half… however, just the one … and it’s in February… so I’m still working back up to 5k at this point! But I can’t wait to read more about your training this time around!

Leave a Reply

