Learning to Pace

I haven’t written about the last two speed sessions but I realized last night at speed work that I am slowly learning how to pace myself.  Last night’s plan was to run (600m, 400m, 200m) X 2. 

My times were:

Distance

Time Goal

First actual time

Second actual time

600m

3’51

3’52

4’01

400m

2’36-2’27

2’32ish

2’20ish

200m

1’15-1’10

1’06

1’04

I can’t remember my actual 400 times so this is a guess based on my Garmin data.

The 600s are the only ones that I was over the time goal but 600s and 800s still intimidate me so I probably started a little too slow and just couldn’t pick it up enough at the end. Signing up for this speed work was probably the best thing I could have done for myself!  Thursday is our last session but I start half training soon and it will include even more speed and I can’t wait! Does that make me a little sadistic?  

Leave a Reply

