Half Training Week 5 – and I’m famous!

I was scrolling through my Facebook feed yesterday and came across this photo, posted by Muddy Buddy!

blog fame

That is my backside in the purple shorts…..I’m famous!!!!

Ok, I’m not REALLY famous, but I still can’t believe how excited I was just to see myself (it doesn’t take much to make me happy).

This week’s training went surprisingly well.  I am so glad I decided to do this training plan because I am feeling stronger every day.

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: Run  4 miles with the group and 1.5 mile walk with Moose

Wednesday: Restorative Yoga and Vinyasa Flow yoga

Thursday: Speed work – 600, 400×2, 200×2 with warm up, cool down, and 4 x 100m pickups (2.75 miles total)

Friday: 4.25 sad, pitiful miles

Saturday: Cheer M on in her first tri (about a mile of running back and forth around the race course)

Sunday: 8 miles

This week, I had the best intentions but made a rookie mistake.  I knew I would be going to cheer for M on Saturday and wanted to get my long run in on Friday.  I had planned to go to my work meeting Friday morning, have a light snack, and then get my run in…Oh, how the best intentions can be foiled.

I didn’t sleep particularly well on Thursday night and Friday’s meeting lasted three hours!  Not only was my brain completely toast afterward, I was starving too!  I stopped at Subway for a sandwich and ate half of it when I got home.  I thought about just skipping my run but I wanted to get it over with.  My legs were still tired from Thursday’s speed work (a post about that is coming soon) and it was pretty hot outside.  Do you see where this is going?  But wait…not only was I exhausted (both mentally and physically), I decided to add hills to my long run…what was I thinking.  Needless to say, I ran a little over two miles and then turned around and walked home.

Luckily, after a good day of rest , I was back to normal and had a great run on Sunday.  I also worked in a trip to Starbucks again this week.  The kind people of Starbucks even put my grande iced coffee into a venti cup so I could run without spilling it.

blog $s

 

 

Also, yesterday was apparently national soft serve day!

Blog ice

Did you celebrate?

I DID!!!

Leave a Reply

