I need a plan!

School has started back!  Gone are the leisurely days of summer and last minute trips to the grocery store to pick up dinner.

Last week was not the best week for me food wise.  I did not plan properly and ended up getting take out several times.  While I made relatively healthy take out choices, I had much rather prepare my food at home.  Take out is expensive and by preparing my meals at home, I know exactly what is in them.

I often hear friends, and even my mom complain that there just isn’t time to cook healthy during the week but with enough planning you can do it!  This week, I have a plan.  I like having a plan and even though I don’t always stick to it, having one makes me feel better.

My Plan:

Monday: Crock pot roast

Tuesday: Salads with grilled chicken

Wednesday: Left over chili

Thursday: Left over pot roast

Lunches: Salads, sandwiches, and left overs

Snacks: Apples, Oranges, amazeballs, cheese sticks

Tips for sticking with your plan

1. Cook a lot on the weekend

Saturday night we had grilled chicken for dinner so I grilled an extra pack of chicken.  Now I have chicken in the fridge for salads and sandwiches this week.  Last night we made Cincinnati chili based off of this recipe by Rachel Ray.  It makes enough for several meals too!

2. Crockpot Monday

Monday is the day that everyone in my house works late so we prep a crockpot meal the night before.  I have started a board on Pintrest to collect new crockpot recipes.  This week we made pot roast!

blog crocl

3.  Plan your snacks

If I go too long without eating, I get hangry so I try to have lots of healthy snack options around.  This week I made the Fitnessista’s  protein Amazeballs!  They are very tasty and only take about 10 minutes to make.

4. Forgive yourself

Sometimes life just gets in the way.  If you end up without a plan for the day don’t be too hard on yourself and move on.

Do you like having a plan?

What is your “go to” easy meal?

Leave a Reply

