Two a day Tuesdays

Between my lack of time and genuine need to get some Rangar training in I have officially declared Tuesdays my two-a-day training days!  Since this is the first time I have ever tried to actually run twice in one day, I thought it best to keep the mileage that my current training plan calls for but break the distance up into two legs.

The Ragnar folks encourage you to practice running at night with a head lamp since at least one of your legs will be in the dark.  Can I just say, this is sooooo not a problem these days.  My alarm went off at 0’dark thirty 5:00 am on Tuesday morning and I moaned and groaned my way into my running clothes, reflective harness, and headlamp, brushed my teeth and headed out to get in 2 miles before work.  I didn’t even bother brushing my hair…I mean really….who is going to see you running at 5 am in the dark?!

First of all, let me just say, there are A LOT of people on my street awake at 5:00 am!  Like me, they too assume that no one could possibly be up that early and don’t even bother to close their blinds as they go on about their business.  I spent the majority of my run looking into the brightly lit windows.  Hmmmm, what are you making for breakfast?  What are you watching on TV?  Etc.  I know, I know, I am a total creeper but you know you would do it too!

I must admit that as hard as it was to crawl out of bed into my running shoes, I felt really energized afterward.

I finally got home from work at 7:30 pm, exhaused from my 13 hour day but determined to finish my run.  I changed into another set of running clothes, put Moose on the leash and headed out for three more miles.

moose

Who wouldn’t want to run with this guy?

It seems people are more concerned about closing their blinds at night so there were no people to watch but it was beautifully clear and I saw a shooting star!

All in all, it was a good experience.

Things I have learned about two-a-days (from my one time experience):

  1. Running twice a day is tough but running in the dark is pretty cool
  2. I am going to have to buy more running shorts or do laundry more often

Do you do two-a-days?

Any tips for making them easier?

Leave a Reply

