Half Training Week 8 and I made a rookie mistake

 Dear Weather,

 The Pumpkin Spice Latte is back…Starbucks says its fall….these 90 degree days in September are just unnecessary.

 Thanks!

 A super slow and sweaty runner

What can I say?  The South is relentless and we had yet another week of 90 + degree days with the heat index in the upper 90’s to lower 100’s…grrrrr.

Monday: Rest Day

Tuesday: 2 miles in the am and 2.6 miles in the pm

Wednesday: Vinyasa Flow Yoga

Thursday: Speed Work 2 x 400 and 7 x 200 with strides (2.5 miles total)

Friday: Rest

Saturday: 10 miles

Sunday: 5 miles

This week’s long run started off great!  I was running with a friend and feeling great.  I ate my first GU at mile 4, drank some water and kept going.  There was a water cooler at the turn around.  We topped off our bottles and headed back.  Around mile 6 we found the coach waiting for us (as usual, we were the last people in the group) and he ran the last 4 miles back with us.  We were chatting as we ran and it seemed that the further we ran, the harder it was for me to keep up.  First of all, the woman I was running with is a little bit faster than me and always pushes my pace but I can usually keep up.  Not so much this time.  By the last mile I was falling further and further behind and I motioned for them to go ahead.  The coach ran it in with her and came back for me.  I was struggling but I pushed through the end and finished strong.

As we were stretching, I reached into my fuel belt to get my phone and found my 2nd GU…the one I forgot to take…TOTAL ROOKIE MISTAKE!

rookie-570x250

Source

I was glad to know that even without the GU, my Garmin says I had an average moving pace of 12:49.  If I can keep this up, I should PR at the Middle Half…Here’s to hoping!

Leave a Reply

