My first attempt at Whisky Hill

100 down 1,914 to go!

Woo Hoo!  100 miles down!  This week’s training went well.  I took it easy the first half of the week because my foot was giving me trouble but was feeling good the second half.

I also am happy to report that I went back to aerial yoga class…and I didn’t fall out of the hammock this time! Success!!!!!!!!  I think I am actually really going to have a lot of fun in that class after I get the hang of it (pun completely intended)

The big event this week was the Whiskey Hill preview run.  The Oak Barrel Half Marathon puts on several preview runs leading up to race day.  They of course include the evil hill of death hardest part of the course “Whiskey Hill.”  The hill itself is a one mile gradual climb which ends with the mother off all mountains hills.

First of all, let me just say that the course is gorgeous!  So much so that I almost forgot about the pain….but not really.

photo 2

This picture from the top of Whiskey doesn’t do it justice.

photo 1

I thought a selfie was in order after I put myself through all of that pain but J decided to crash it!

photo 3

My running buddies completely rocking it out
photo 4

And of course, every race needs some shenanigans!

photo 5

What have I learned this week?  That after the San Francisco Half I can get through anything but my booty needs to be doing a lot more hill work before race day!

This Week:

Monday – Rest

Tuesday – 3 miles speed intervals

Wednesday – Aerial Yoga

Thursday – 1 mile walk with moose

Friday – 3 miles easy

Saturday – 7.5 miles walk

Sunday – 7.5 miles

 

Leave a comment