Marathon in 2014?

After my 2012 overuse injury, my 2013 goal was to stick to shorter races and get through the year injury free.  I am happy to report that it was a success and while I ran numerous races, none of them were further than a half marathon…well except for Relay Rutherford and Ragnar…but I digress.

I have decided that I am ready to go for another full this year but I can’t seem to decide on one.  I do have a specific set of criteria:

  1. It must have a 7 hour time limit.  The two that I have run so far were 6:40 and 6:50 and while I know I am a stronger runner now, I also respect the distance and know anything could happen.
  2. It has to be between the months of June and Decemer.  Any earlier and I don’t think I would be trained properly.
  3. It needs to be within driving distance.  I have a trip to New York planned this summer and more airfare is simply not in the budget.

So now it is time to use these criteria to find the race for me.  I have a few that I am already considering:

Slide3

 

Slide2

 

Slide1

Clearly the Nashville Marathon is speaking to me but that time limit really scares me.   I am going to see what my times are for the next few halfs and talk to my coach to see if might just be able to pull it off.

Have you ever attempted a race that you really weren’t sure you could conquer?

Leave a Reply

